IE6 is not supported at this time. Please consider upgrading to Internet Explorer 9, FireFox, Apple Safari, or Google Chrome.

Total War: Shogun 2 Heaven

You must be logged in to post messages.
Please login or register

Campaign & General Discussion
Moderated by Scipii

Hop to:    
Welcome! You are not logged in. Please Login or Register.1 reply
Total War: Shogun 2 Heaven » Forums » Campaign & General Discussion » Blacksmith Question- Shogun Noob
Bottom
Topic Subject:Blacksmith Question- Shogun Noob
Celban
Ashigaru
posted 12-26-12 11:35 AM EDT (US)         
Hello

I am new to Shogun 2. I have been playing the TW series for years so I am very familiar with the concepts tho.

Shogun seems to have changed the game though when it comes to upgrading and retraining units, and one area I need to investigate is the Blacksmith.

My first campaign is with the Shimazu. At the first opportunity I upgraded the Blacksmith only to find out I had a choice of weapon or armor.

I chose weapon to augment the Shimazu traits with the sword, thinking I would choose armor with a later upgrade, I was never able to upgrade my Castle yet, so I havenlt unlocked the upper tier, does this allow a new Blacksmith upgrade to armor?

New units created get the weapon icon on their cards but old units with experience never get the weapon upgrade. I couldn't figure out how to retrain them, until I read a post today about merging units, which is new to me.

Also I read that if you open the unit creation panel and drag units into available slots you can upgrade them. I will try this after work today.

What puzzles me is I have some older Shimazu Katana units that on their card shows an "armor" icon as well as the "weapon" icon, only 4 units have this, but no newly created units get that armor bonus, only the weapon.

Did I lose armor when I upgraded the Blacksmith? What am I missing? I need a guide with regards to Blacksmiths and upgrading. My research continues!

Thanks!!
AuthorReplies:
Awesome Eagle